Attention Deficit (and Hyperactivity?) Disorder.

So, as I’ve just said in another discussion HERE, and alluded to some time ago…

I was recently diagnosed by a psychiatrist as having (primarily inattentive) ADD.

I realise that this is a big thing to say in a group of skeptics. As I seem to have gotten a SHITLOAD of skepticism about this from all corners. Most of the variety:

Well THAT is obvious bullshit, these days every second kid supposedly has ADD when they're actually just smart/different/active/normal/irritates the teacher/individualistic/....

Here’s the thing. And here I’m being 100% honest with you guys, I walked into that office knowing that most of my life I’ve been a massive under-achiever. I am smart, yes, I have a good job, yes, I graduated varsity, yes. But I can tell you now, almost half ashamed, almost guilty of having it too easy in life, that I could only do anything I’ve ever done because I was inherently smart. I never deserved any of it if due to “effort”. I could not, never, ever, sit down and WORK something until it was complete. Impossible. Cannot be done. And then…

... and then they give people ritalin and make them blunt/stupider/sedate/a better slave/without joy/without feeling.....

Well, now, with my experiences the last few months, I disagree, whereas before I may have agreed. See, these opinions, they delayed me seeking treatment. They delayed me admitting that this could be my problem. They made me think that admitting I had a problem would be admitting that I simply was being a bad person, and ADD was a cop-out, etc…

So I went on a slowly-ramping-up schedule of (what is essentially a differently named) ritalin. I was plently skeptical, and read a lot about it before even making my first visit, I didn’t say a peep to most anyone, not even this forum, where I’m somewhat anonymous anyway…