Photography

i’m an apprentice photographer.
i need the following, in no particular order:

1. weddings, parties, events… i need to build my profile. for this, i wont charge, but ofcourse, some bucks will allso be nice, a girl’s gotta eat.
  2. an apprenticeship. with someone who can teach me studio photography. weekends, obviously. or just drag me along to jobs so i can learn.
  3. or even, people who want portraits taken. obviously, i dont have a studio, so it will be at home, or in the garden, that kind of stuff.

everybit helps.

Go google photography forums… you would probably be able to find someone to tag along with on there?

they are all noobs and beginners. all the ‘professional’ guys are too stuck up to help us. they teach, of course, but they are as expensive as they please. i have approached several studios and photographers. and most simply dont even respond, and those that do, are those who offer classes. helps me buggerall.

Majin thought about getting into the biz, but the pro’s were highly unhelpful. Some paid lip service, but you try to follow up and they want nothing to do with you.

In my opinion there’s a fear in their midst of noobs with SLR’s overrunning their market and diluting their profitability. Either that or they have millionses of people trying to do the same thing contacting them all the time and it gets tiresome. The last thing they want is people like you running around offering free services trying to get exposure (pun intended). That’s just bad for business.

Have you thought of building an online profile? Places like DeviantArt and Flickr have great online communities that will critique your work, and keep you motivated with group projects etc etc.