Alternative operating systems..

Anyone use ubuntu? Any good?

Depends.

I use Kubuntu (yes wif a kay, I’m rogue like that) exclusively at work. I’m a software developer, and I love it. But that’s me, a geek, I live for this stuff.

Horses for courses, I wouldn’t hand a novice a sniping rifle, if you get my metaphor. So what’s your course like? Any software you need to be able to make a living? What is this PC used for?

I’m increasingly hearing about ‘lay’ people who get along with ubuntu just fine, better than windows sometimes. BUT it depends on your needs.

Yes and yes–with the disclaimer that I don’t update every 6 months as per the release cycle, but go from long-term release to leng-term release, so I’m still using 10.04 which came out 2 years ago. I haven’t seen Unity (Ubuntu’s new DE) yet, about which there has been a heck of a lot said, mostly negative.

The pros of using Linux (whatever distro) over Windows are relative immunity from malware and far fewer crashes and BSODs. Cons are software incompatibility (want to play that shiny new game? Chances are it won’t run in Wine) and sometimes applications break, although this is seldom.

If you have the technical ability to learn how to use Linux properly you will be lavishly repaid for ditching Windows. If you don’t, ditch Windows anyway and buy a Mac.

Thanks both

I mainly use word, excel, powerpoint sometimes movie maker nothing massively technical, I’m more competent than patient when it comes to these things. I just want to avoid the ever increasing stream of viruses coming from school computers (our IT technician is far too busy editing wedding photos he takes on weekends to actually do his job!) and use free software.

I’m sure the entire reply has screamed NOVICE!! :slight_smile: