Basic science education

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/02/14/277058739/1-in-4-americans-think-the-sun-goes-around-the-earth-survey-says
Reading the comments on this, and at some point someone ask if this result is because of the kind of science education received. This is America so one would presume that they all received a good primary school education. What else can get 25% this far of the mark?
Exactly how was the question phrased? Maybe there was some confusion?
Maybe this result was because the basic solar system is not part of high school work.
Maybe this is evidence that 25% of Americans are truly daft?

I suspect that a similar survey here in South Africa would have a much worse outcome. I’ve had teachers (rural schools in Limpopo and Mpumalanga) asking me how it can be true that we are moving around the Sun?

Well, I’m a school teacher, so I’m supposed to know how this kind of thing happens. Except I don’t. I have the same thing with my own primary school pupils. With a very substantial number of them, this sort of basic knowledge simply never gets into their heads, no matter how much it is drilled or explained or practiced.

A lot of it isn’t even in the formal curriculum to begin with, but I make a point of introducing them to the very basic facts of planet Earth: its size, the sizes of the sun and moon, the distances between these bodies, and which orbits which. Not only do I do this when I get them in grade four, I redo that exact work year after year, from grade four to grade seven.

Some of the kids quite simply cannot retain this information - after four years of having studied it year after year, and written exam after exam on it, they still have not the vaguest clue of how big Earth is or how far the moon is; guesses range from, say, 200 km in diameter to 2 million. I.e. they do not have an even vaguely accurate intuition, which would lead to guesses ranging from, say, 8000 km to 15000 or so. The guesses are completely wild.