Circumcision 'reduces HIV risk'

"Research on the effectiveness of male circumcision for preventing HIV in heterosexual men is conclusive," said lead researcher Nandi Siegfried, co-director of the centre, which is located at the SA Medical Research Council.
Siegfried said circumcision might help to protect against HIV by removing cells in the foreskin to which the virus was specifically attracted.

These Langerhans cells had receptors that enabled the virus to enter them.

i don’t know about this. it sounds a little dodge in my opinion…

Apparently a lot of research was done on this, I know in KZN a couple months ago they had a drive and some 3000 men were circumcised. I have no clue as to the validity of the claim though, I do suppose that it improves cleanliness in the area? :-\

Hi :slight_smile:

Time for one of the lurkers to make himself known hehehe. I’m currently doing my degree in biochemistry at WITS. When I did a course called molecular basis of disease, we came across this topic. A lot of research has gone into this as far as I know. I’m too busy studying for my final biochem …(which is tomorrow :o ) to actually look up the references, but I’ll try to post them soon. There are a lot of cells located in the foreskin that HIV target specifically. However there have been positive and negative studies, but more positive ones.

Now I really need to stop procrastinating doh.

Welcome, and good luck with your exam! :slight_smile:

'Luthon64

it feels to me, that this is just an excuse for men to not use protection.
this article states, that it ‘reduces’ the risk of infection for the first two years.
then what?
and what about he woman then?
if the guy is allready infected, how the hell would cutting the foreskin help her?

im sure there is validity in this claim, but in this country, where the accountability for std spreading is nil, such half-baked solutions isnt worth a crap.