How should teachers be taught?

I sometimes get the impression that education, as an academic discipline, is almost in its entirety a pseudoscience. But I wonder whether any actual studies have been done on this. Does the possession of a B. Ed. degree or postgrad teaching diploma actually make people better at teaching? How could we find out?

I have been teaching for several years now, without any formal qualifications in education. I’m not sure the lack of qualification has really been a problem, but of course, my judgement must be heavily coloured by the fact that I have no desire to go back to study. On the other hand, there is now a huge, established bureaucracy that churns out new teachers - of course they are going to tell you that it is essential to be “properly qualified.” Just like law enforcers will tell you that draconian legislation is essential or Greenpeace will tell you that their services are essential - bureaucracies take on a life of their own and often their main purpose becomes self-perpetuation rather than solving the problem they were created to solve in the first place.

My personal experience with colleagues who hold a B.Ed. degree is that some are good and some are not, and the qualification seems to make little difference. A lot of them are very inflexible and bureaucratic in their thinking, and most display an absolutely appalling lack of knowledge of the subjects they teach. I have had grade 3 teachers call in my help to solve grade 3 math problems that they struggled with.