Learning new stuff at the vet and everywhere

My cat is sick. She collapses off her feet, wont eat and doesnt pick a fight with the other cats.

So last night I take a duck off work a bit earlier and take her to the vet. He checks her thoroughly, stress out because of her 40.5 degree temperature, her painful kidneys and lack of lustre. So the man in his infinite veterinary wisdom, takes a blood sample and whilst checking it under the microscope almost explodes with glee and excitement. ???

Anyway, he drags me to the instrument (last time I attempted to figure something out under a microscope I was 14 and in Std 7). So there’s this blob of creoling critters and I promptly want to flee and vomit (I’m not good with almost invisible goggas). Whilst I’m attempting to control my horror, he lines up the rest of the veternary staff to come have a look and phones a colleague up the road to tell him about it.

So the fancy name for it is Babesiosis, a tick borne disease, and fortunately, he can treat it, with what looks like mud in a syringe…

The wonder of all this though for me, is that there is not a day that goes by that one has an opportunity to learn of new things, whether its human nature or goggas in a cats blood, every day has meaning to it, an opportunity to learn, to explore new stuff - whether you’re interested or not - whether its relevant or irrellevant to your daily life.

Its THIS that gives me meaning to my life, to learn, to gather knowledge, however dumb or boring it may seem to others. I love knowing a little bit about anything and everything - a Jack of all trades if you must - I’ll never be great at any given thing, my mind is too curious about everything to want to make a study of any one given subject, and of course, I’m so grateful for encyclopedias (when i was young) and now in the era we find ourselves for the allmighty Google.