Question for the developers here

I got myself a bee in the bonnet and gone and registered myself on a “Querying Microsoft SL Server with Transact SQL” course. I’ve got very little background in programming, some faffing around with macros in Excel is the extent of my skills.

The training plan states the following:

1. LEARNING OUTCOME
    This course discusses the role of XML in the Microsoft .NET vision and the larger world of distributed standards-based computing. This 4-day instructor led course provides students with the technical skills required to write basic Transact-SQL queries for Microsoft SQL Server.
  2. LEARNING OBJECTIVES
    After completing this course, delegates will be able to:
     Describe how XML and related technologies fit into the .NET Platform.
     Create a well-formed XML document.
     Use XML schemas to validate an instance document.
     Describe how XML Document Object Model (DOM), XML Path Language (XPath), XSL Transformations (XSLT), and XQuery are used to create real-world solutions.
     Describe how Office XP can be used to handle XML.
     Describe how SQL Server 2000 uses XML.
     Describe how XML standards and the .NET Platform are used to address a range of solution requirements.
     Identify the next logical .NET training experience and readily justify the decision to enrol in further .NET training.
     Describe the uses of and ways to execute the Transact-SQL language.
     Use querying tools.
     Write SELECT queries to retrieve data.
     Group and summarize data by using Transact-SQL.
     Join data from multiple tables.
     Write queries that retrieve and modify data by using sub queries.
     Modify data in tables.
     Query text fields with full-text search.
     Describe how to create programming objects.
     Use various techniques when working with complex queries.