The just don't get it thread

Hate asking … but can anyone explain this joke:

• Do you have a job?
  • I’m an accountant.
  • Chartered?
  • Turf. Penny Warrender and Vince Pinner, Just Good Friends

In the UK, a “turf accountant” is a bookie. Bookies are often viewed as shady characters. The UK also distinguishes between “certified” and “chartered” accountants. The latter enjoy the highest status and are viewed as honourable individuals because of their vows of probity to the Crown and membership of a discerning organisation.

'Luthon64

OoooooooKAY … thank you!

I am still looking forward to the day when someone can explain this one to me:

I can deal with not understanding math or the universe. But for some reason, few things frustrate me as much as when I don’t get a joke.

Me too. But really … I trust that’s not your reason for being up at four ay em! :o

What was the source of that cartoon again? Maybe the context will help.

Make that 3 am this morning. I’m something of an insomniac.

What was the source of that cartoon again? Maybe the context will help.

I found it on a message board in a very old thread. Everyone thought it was hilarious, but it was an old thread so none of the people who knew why it is so funny were there anymore to explain it. There was no other context in the thread that could explain it either.

Then I suspect it to be an in-joke of sorts. Unfortunately the best jokes often are!

Rigil

Solidarity brother. Previous night my mind was whirring until about 5am. Last night though, sweet dreaming.

You may be looking for a secondary level of humour that is absent. Some people, especially children, could find the mere fact that the guy on the ladder is explaining to the pig why it should not bump against the ladder funny.