Traffic

Yesterday I got stuck in traffic on the highway, in Witbank, of all places. Now, this was nothing compared to you Gautenger and Capetonians but it got me thinking. Won’t it help the highway traffic to add more, many more, off-ramps? Not on ramps, just off ramps. I think this would also help the secondary roads in that the traffic would be more spread out, instead of having a few very busy roads close to the ramps.

I have no idea. Sounds like a good idea actually, but I am no engineer. Or whatever you call someone who studies this issue.

The reverse situation also occurs frequently—i.e., where traffic is slow and choked up en route to the motorway but traffic on the motorway itself flows well. With this in mind, it could perhaps be more useful to have special ramps that can quickly be switched between functioning either as on- or as off-ramps. I don’t think the engineering would be the major problem with something like that; however, a minimum level of driver sophistication would be required, which is where SA finds itself in a dire pickle…

'Luthon64

I’ve seen novel highway exit designs before. Stuff like this. But it all comes down to cost and real-estate.

It’s not at all clear to me how the thing is supposed to work, or what it does. But I’m sure our local taxi drivers will very quickly work it out. :slight_smile:

The point is to have an on/off-ramp that doesn’t take much space, so you could build it in otherwise impractical places.

Traffic joining the freeway from the on-ramp into the fast lane is not a good idea. There’s one like that on the M3 in Cape Town, and it’s bloody dangerous; there are loads of accidents there when some old tjorrie saunters onto the freeway in front of a hurtling Aston Martin…

Guess it comes back to Mefi’s point… I seen on/off ramps like that in the USA, but then their drivers seem far more proficient in general.