Newbie!

Hi everyone, my name is Lize, and I am delighted to have found a place where it seems ignorance is NOT the order of the day! I am a 26 year old millwright, and I live in a small town in the Northern Cape. I look forward to meeting everyone!

Hi Lize, and welcome! Hope you’ll enjoy it here. So … what are you skeptical about? :wink:

Thanks! I was raised in a Christian household, but I have amazing parents who, despite talking religious nonsense into my head and forcing me to go to church, also regularly took me to the library and encouraged me to read everything I could lay my hands on. Since I could remember I was interested in science, and I never really bought the whole ‘intelligent design’ thing.

I quickly learned that being verbal about my skepticism was not productive, as this caused the kids at school to label me a witch, and the teacher in charge of religious studies regularly harassed me about it as well. Since then I graduated from high school, went to college, graduated, got married, and had a child. I baptized my child because my family put pressure on me to do so. But I recently decided that I would no longer be bullied. I went to my church and removed myself and my child from the church database, and I informed the head of my child’s Christianity-based pre-school that I am an Atheist and that I raise my child as an Atheist. This was very unwelcome information for them, and they informed me that we would have problems when my child goes to Grade R, because that is also a Christianity based school.